Mallard Cottage: Newfoundland

In September, I was treated to aΒ dinner at Mallard Cottage for my birthday. I had been eager to try it after hearing amazing stories about the food and the restaurant itself. In short, all of the amazing things I had heard, had all been correct.

Mallard Cottage NewfoundlandMallard Cottage

In November 2013, Chef Todd Perrin and his team opened Mallard Cottage in a newly restored cottage and in June 2013 they were presented with the Southcott Award for excellence in the preservation of the built heritage of Newfoundland & Labrador. Something that is truly to be valued in today’s obsession with newness – Mallard Cottage is full of heritage and unique character. Regardless of whom you are dining with, there are endless conversation topics based on the building itself. The experience, even without the food, is worth attending to.

http://mallardcottage.ca/web/location/

Upon entering you are brought back in time to a calmer, intimate, vivacious, yet simpler and more romantic moment. The servers are kind and genuine – it feels as if you’ve been taken to the cabin of an old friend who happens to be an amazing chef and you are dining amongst their family.

Mallard Cottage IMG_5470

Mallard CottageMallard Cottage Newfoundland

The menu is fresh, simple and unique featuring Newfoundland’s ownΒ wild game, seafood and produce. I felt as if I was really stepping-out of my ordering habits while at Mallard Cottage – and definitely had some nerves about it, as I know what I like! But, placing my trust in the Chef and kitchen staff was absolutely the best decision. I am a supporter of knowing what you like and eating what you want, but there are places where you have to let go and trust that the professionals do truly know what is best. It’s their art – and the food at Mallard Cottage, along with theΒ amazing atmosphere, truly is an art.

Since their menu is based off of seasonal and daily availability, it is constantly changing (that’s why it’s so fresh). To see what they are serving today you can check their Twitter here.

Mallard Cottage Newfoundlanda Newfoundland

With it’s cozy-homey feel, kind staff and amazing food, you will want to prepare yourself for a long visit at Mallard Cottage. I can assure you, I have yet to feel so relaxed and welcomed in a restaurant as I have in this one. Maybe it was having been drawn to the clearly displayed Newfoundland culture, the friendly vibes or the amazing food – or the combination of it all – but I can’t wait to return.

To top it all off, once you’ve finished your meal and you set out on your journey home, you are greeted with the most amazing view and reminder of what Newfoundland culture is all about, which will help you appreciate your meal that much more.

Quidi Vidi Newfoundland Boat Newfoundland


2 thoughts on “Mallard Cottage: Newfoundland

  1. kadiewanders February 3, 2015 / 12:08 am

    I’ve been dying to eat there, I’ve only ever heard amazing things! You may have inspired where I’ll go for my birthday!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jessica Kilfoy February 3, 2015 / 3:23 am

      You absolutely should! The atmosphere is amazing and the food is definitely celebration-worthy!

      Like

What do you think?

