Freak Lunchbox: Water Street

I have always had an extreme sweet tooth. Growing up my mother was always warning me to slow down with the candy, otherwise I would get a cavity. I grew an intense fear of getting cavities and developed a ritualistic mouth-care routine. Finally, two months ago, at the age of 24, I got my first cavity. I was terrified! Thankfully, it ended up not being quite as bad as I thought. So, I would say that the candy was worth it.

With my lifelong love of all forms of candy, not only childhood me, but full-on-adult me, was extremely over enthused when Freak Lunchbox came to town and moved in at 282 Water Street.

freak lunchbox newfoundland freak lunchbox newfoundland freak lunchbox newfoundland freak lunchbox newfoundland

Freak Lunchbox launched in 2001 with its flagship store in Halifax, Nova Scotia. Since that time they have grown, now with six locations throughout Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Alberta, Quebec and Newfoundland. Even with their expansions, the Freak Lunchbox team has a passion for classic hand-painted signage and create it all with a team of artists in a Halifax studio.

Their dedication to uniqueness and character is certainly portrayed through wild and bright visual window displays and colourful candy presentations throughout the store.

candy freak lunchbox st. john's newfoundland candy freak lunchbox st. john's newfoundland candy freak lunchbox st. john's newfoundland candy freak lunchbox st. john's newfoundland
candy freak lunchbox st. john's newfoundland candy freak lunchbox st. john's newfoundland

Upon entering, you are greeted by friendly staff who are just as vibrant and friendly as the store itself! Then, the abundance of candy and interesting novelty products completely overwhelms you. I find, I usually stand in awe for the first few moments as I enter the store.

The best comparison I could make, is that I almost feel as though I have finally got to step inside The Weasley Brother’s Joke Shop.

weasley's wizard wheezes

The jellybean selection is amazing and vast – it’s a hard choice. Most of all, I love the exciting rainbow display and just want to taste them all.

jelly bean freak lunchbox newfoundland jelly bean freak lunchbox newfoundland

In the back of the store is where the real fun begins! The majority of the candy is here – and this is how you serve it up!

You have two choices: a plastic bag (free) or an adorable Chinese take-out inspired box ($$). When I am purchasing for myself I go with a bag, but the take-out boxes make perfect packaging for a sweet little gift.

bags candy freak lunchbox newfoundland IMG_8786

Now, the fun part – fill it up! For myself, it’s important to get a good combination of sweet, sour and chocolate. My combination typically consist of: chocolate yummies, chocolate covered raisins, “fruit salad”, sour keys, watermelon slices and fuzzy peaches.

candy freak lunchbox newfoundland candy freak lunchbox newfoundland candy freak lunchbox newfoundland candy freak lunchbox newfoundland candy freak lunchbox newfoundlandcandy freak lunchbox newfoundland

When your picking is complete, your bag of candy will be weighed which is how they determine the price. Over the last few year, I have realized that it is unlikely that a trip to Freak Lunchbox will cost you less than $10. The truth is that you have chosen, dare I say, too much candy. It’s easy to do! But the good thing is that you have a delicious selection of goodies that is sure to last a few days.

pay by weight candy freak lunchbox newfoundland

Here, you will also find rare and childhood-memory treats such as dark chocolate Kit Kats, Big League Chew, and Pocky.

As well, Freak Lunchbox serves up custom thick milkshakes on old school mixers! I have yet to try these but the ones I have seen look absolutely delicious. They will be on my list of summer must-try’s.

My sweet tooth and I were pretty excited for our weekend treat and I am not ashamed to admit I ate almost the full $10 worth of candy in one night.

candy freak lunchbox Newfoundland

Do you have a favourite candy combination?


3 thoughts on “Freak Lunchbox: Water Street

  1. Terri March 23, 2015 / 2:01 pm

    Thanks for the kind words!

    Like

    • Jessica Kilfoy March 23, 2015 / 2:16 pm

      You are very welcome! Thank you for the consistently great experiences.

      Like

What do you think?

