The Adelaide Oyster House

I recently wrote, in celebration of Cinco de Mayo, a list of my Top 3 Places for Fish Tacos. Each of the places on the list, I still stand by being the go-to places for the tastiest fish tacos. However, with all the feedback I received, I noticed a reoccurring comment – that apparently the best ones were to be found at The Adelaide Oyster House.

I had been eagerly waiting for an opportunity to try this new restaurant and thanks to your amazing feedback, I had the perfect reason to go. I needed to investigate these fish tacos.

To celebrate the official date of Cinco de Mayo, I headed down to The Adelaide Oyster House and ordered a hefty feast of tacos.

the adelaide oyster house downtown st. john's newfoundland the adelaide oyster house downtown st. john's newfoundland

The interior is rich, warm and inviting. It’s classy, well thought-out yet completely unpretentious. When you enter the front door, you are faced with a long, modern bar full of bottles, candles and staff that are quick to greet.

the adelaide oyster house newfoundland

Naturally, I took a seat in the back of the restaurant. This is my favourite places to sit because it’s often less noisy and more private, but also offers the perfect vantage point to observe the goings-on of the restaurant.

the adelaide oyster house interior st. john's newfoundland restaurant downtown the adelaide oyster house interior st. john's newfoundland restaurant downtown

Observing the staff is a great way to get a vibe of a restaurant and essentially, the mindset of which your food is being created. While observing (and dining) here I was filled with feelings of relaxation, friendliness and a genuine enjoyment for the atmosphere, food and general surroundings. This, I find, is quite a rarity. The Adelaide Oyster House is a true gem.

I felt so relaxed and at home, that I may have even sang along to some of the songs they were playing. I would also like to take this time to say my compliments to the DJ, or whoever created the playlist. Yes, you may have heard that the music here is loud and that the atmosphere is boisterous but, the key to the noise is that it’s jovial and friendly – also, the music they play is awesome!

the adelaide oyster house newfoundland where to eat st.john's

So, we mulled over our menus while I sang along… Since we were on a Cinco de Mayo adventure for fish tacos, we kept our order very simple. However, I am very excited to return to The Adelaide Oyster House and try out more of their impressive menu.

the adelaide oyster house menu newfoundland where to eat downtown

the adelaide oyster house downtown st. john's menu where to eat newfoundland the adelaide oyster house downtown st. john's menu where to eat newfoundland

We started our meal with the Chips & Guacamole ($9). This simple, yet exquisite dish is made-to-order, which means it’s extremely fresh and made with the utmost love.

chips and guacamole the adelaide oyster house newfoundland cinch de mayo

chips and guacamole the adelaide oyster house newfoundland cinch de mayo
The chips were crisp and lightly flavoured while the guacamole was a powerhouse of spice and flavour. If you think you like guac or that you’ve tasted good guac, you need to reconsider and head to The Adelaide straight away to try the real deal. For something that would be considered a simple or basic dish, it was absolutely amazing.

guacamole chips tortilla cinco de mayo avocado the adelaide oyster house newfoundland

Next, we ordered the Tuna Tacos ($6 each). These featured perfectly seared tuna, a slice of avocado, local cabbage, pickled red onion, fresh cilantro and a delicious baja sauce.

tuna taco the adelaide oyster house fresh newfoundland where to eat

tuna taco the adelaide oyster house fresh newfoundland where to eat

tuna taco the adelaide oyster house fresh newfoundland where to eat

I had been quite impressed with my meal’s start of Chips & Guacamole, but when I bit into this Tuna Taco, I knew without a doubt I was in for quite a treat. The freshness and care put into the dishes at The Adelaide Oyster House are unparalleled. Every detail added something spectacular to the dish and created a phenomenal flavour experience.

The second type of taco we went for was the classic and reputable Fish Taco ($6 each). The fresh cod featured in these tacos was coated in an IPA batter and layered with fresh avocado, slaw, adobo and spicy mayo.

fish taco newfoundland the adelaide oyster house st. john's downtown

fish taco newfoundland the adelaide oyster house st. john's downtown

fish taco newfoundland the adelaide oyster house st. john's downtown

Upon biting into the Fish Taco, I decided that The Adelaide Oyster House is officially my go-to place to eat. The batter was crisp and light with fresh, flaky fish and incredibly fresh dressings and drizzled with a perfect complimentary spicy sauce.

From the moment I stepped into The Oyster House I felt at ease, this totally-chill vibe coupled with the amazing talent in the kitchen, creates an amazing atmosphere. The slogan featured on their website explains it perfectly: Free-Style Food that’s Style-Free.

Already I’m looking forward to my next opportunity to visit this restaurant – in fact, it’s going to be almost impossible to walk past without going in! I admittedly have yet to try Oysters, so I’m very excited to make my first Oyster experience happen at The Adelaide Oyster House.

Do you have any tips for Oyster eating? What are you favourite dishes at The Adelaide Oyster House?

the adelaide oyster house interior newfoundland st. john's where to eat the adelaide oyster house interior newfoundland st. john's where to eat


5 thoughts on “The Adelaide Oyster House

  1. lynn S June 13, 2015 / 8:38 pm

    I’m also a huge fan of Adelaide. The past couple of times I’ve been, I’ve ordered the calamari which comes with a soya, chili lime dipping sauce, then the pork belly which they now serve in a bed of Raman noodles and of course the fish taco. All dishes are amazingly flavourful. I’ve also had the Korean chicken and it’s quite good but my fav’s are the first three I mentioned. Great atmosphere. I have to admit though, I love the music selection but I don’t love the volume. Depending where you sit in the restaurant it can be difficult to hear the person sitting next to you. It gets annoying. That is the only negative thing I can say.

    Like

    • Jessica Kilfoy June 14, 2015 / 2:21 pm

      I do have to agree with you, it can definitely be difficult to carry a conversation. Definitely not a first-date location, haha!
      But the food is fantastic. I’ll have to try that Korean Chicken.

      Like

  2. Jil May 8, 2015 / 12:31 pm

    I have been dying to try out this place and now I know I HAVE to go. You made it sound so good. Now I’m dying for fish tacos. Damn you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jessica Kilfoy May 8, 2015 / 1:43 pm

      Haha, so sorry! But it truly is an amazing place with amazing food! You must go!! I hear they’re very busy and its best to try and get there right at opening! ☺️

      Like

      • Jil May 8, 2015 / 2:44 pm

        Thanks! I’ll keep that in mind. Might hit that place up next weekend when I’m back in town. Those tacos look so good!

        Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

